Thermals

Sorry everyone, it’s another product review. But I absolutely adore my pairs (yep, that’s right, one pair wasn’t enough!).

Most equestrians know the pain, angst, and irriation of chilblains during the winter. Many of us get them on the outside of our thighs; raised purple fifty pence sized itchy lumps. 

Luckily for me I haven’t suffered too badly in the last few winters, but they have been comparatively mild and I’ve gone into the winter armed with thermals and over trousers.

The thermal under jodhpurs that I’ve been living in for the last two months are Eque-tech Arctic Thermal Underbreeches. I have to say that they are very reasonably priced at £15, and are like wearing a second skin.

They are fleece lined, with appropriately named stirrups for the feet so they don’t ride up your leg, and extra padding on the seat, with no seams on the seat, making them comfy in the saddle. 

Initially I thought this base layer felt quite thick, but as they move with you and are stretchy, you soon forget you’re wearing them and you certainly aren’t inhibited by them, which I find I am with waterproof trousers.

The underbreeches are available in black and beige; which meant that I could wear them discreetly under my cream jodhpurs at the dressage last week! They come in two sizes – S/M and L/XL. If I’m honest, I’d rather see three options for sizing because being a size 10 I opted for the S/M ones and definitely feel that I’m at the biggest end of this size, yet I would not consider myself to be a large by any stretch (sorry) of the imagination.  They also come up very high (to my ribs) which can put pressure on your tummy after lunch, but they fold down quite happily and it doesn’t affect the fit of them around your legs and bum.


So far this winter my legs have remained warm and chilblain free. Definitely something to invest in if you feel the cold, and they don’t break the bank. I just wish I could wear them all the time – highly recommended! 

5 thoughts on “Thermals

  1. EquiPepper December 19, 2016 / 4:38 pm

    I loved these too! Reviewed them last week 😀

    • therubbercurrycomb December 19, 2016 / 4:52 pm

      Someone just tagged me in a Facebook post about their anti chilblain ones – extra padding on the outer thigh! 😃

      • EquiPepper December 19, 2016 / 4:57 pm

        Oh was its EQUUS? I’ve been looking at them!

      • EquiPepper December 19, 2016 / 4:59 pm

        They’re fantastic. Very local business to me 😊

Leave a Reply

