Road Safety

The British Horse Society launch a campaign last week to raise awareness about passing horse riders safely on the road – See their site here. This is made all the more important with the closure of bridle ways and increased number of roads and increased traffic on the road.

It seems to have had a positive effect, because I was on a hack last week and noticed an increased number of drivers slowing down to a crawl and passing me as if I were twelve foot wide. I even had a car trail behind me despite the road ahead being straight and clear – I had to halt to initiate the overtake as I refuse to wave drivers past me thus making me responsible for any ensuing accidents. The passed me, and I have to say it was a welcome relief to see so many courteous drivers.

The BHS even produced a video explaining to non equestrians how to safely pass horses on the road – Here – which is probably very useful to the wider social media family. It’s just down to us equestrians to spread the word.

The BHS will be aiming for some legislative changes, which take a long time, but also for footage collected by headcams and tailcams to have some weight in any legal disputes. However, educating Joe Public and giving them a goal of passing horses at 15mph should help reduce accident statistics. 15mph is surprisingly difficult to get down to if you suddenly meet a horse and rider, but it is not difficult to maintain that speed should you be passing three or four horses. Hopefully we shall see a difference on the roads.

One article said “almost everyone who rides horses will be able to recount a story about a time when they had a near miss on the roads”. That’s true, I know several horror stories from friends. However, let’s turn it around and applaud the courteous drivers.

Like the bin lorry driver who didn’t get too close to me this morning, and waited patiently whilst I found somewhere to hide. Or the amazing farmer who had miles of blue piping in the bucket of his tractor who reversed back up the hill until reaching a t-junction, where I was going, and turned his engine off until I’d passed. Does anyone else know a driver who is respectful and courteous enough to go out of their way to pass you, wait for you, help you – anything?

IMG_1957

6 thoughts on “Road Safety

  1. myequestrianblogsite March 30, 2016 / 6:21 pm

    I didn’t know about this campaign but now I do due to your campaign, Thankyou. Maybe checkout my blogs and maybe follow? Thankyou.

  2. horse and human April 2, 2016 / 12:01 am

    I have added details about the campaign on my blog. I am pleased to see you adding details to yours.
    From speaking to a few drivers they mention some riders not being dressed to be seen. As much as we are trying to educate the driver, the rider in some cases needs to do their part to. That’s in the Highway Code anyway.
    Also riding side by side is a common complaint. When you are leading another horse that’s how you are, you are permitted to do so for a novice horse or rider.

    • therubbercurrycomb April 2, 2016 / 4:02 am

      I agree that a certain amount of play on both sides, we need to abide by the rules as well as be courteous to make sure that drivers understand, see us and feel appreciated. I heard on the grape vine about a petition that is trying to make it illegal for riders to ride without fluorescent. I wish common sense would just prevail!

  3. horse and human April 2, 2016 / 12:11 am

    Otis looks fab, thanks for the link to the xc. I think it’s meant to be the bhs road safety though 🙂
    What course is it?

    • therubbercurrycomb April 2, 2016 / 4:08 am

      Thanks for the heads up, how WordPress and YouTube decided that that was the link to paste God only knows, I was on the bhs page on my phone! The xc video is like a month old – iPhones, they have a mind of their own 🤔
      All changed now!

      • horse and human April 2, 2016 / 9:14 am

        I think all phones do. They put files where you can’t find them.

Leave a Reply

