Brightly Coloured 

I forgot my hi vis tabard when I went to hack one of my regular horses today, so I borrowed a fluorescent pink coat from the tack room.

It was very clean and fairly new, and I’ll be honest, I felt like I was a beacon glowing away! The horse  balked away from me when I appeared from the tack room. My sleeves even made the gelding’s white chin pink!

For the first time in a long while I had difficulty mounting because the horse kept turning to look at me and my vivid coat.

There’s not a huge point to this except for the fact it reminded me of Llani.

I was hacking out with a friend, and she arrived to ride Llani with her freshly laundered yellow fluorescent coat. In a similar manner to my horse today, Llani looked in surprise at her, taking a step back.

I mounted Otis first, and to my surprise, as my friend mounted Llani shot forwards. She sat quietly in the saddle and he stopped, but as she adjusted her seat he shot forwards a few strides, eyes on stalks, turning his head from side to side. 

Then I clocked what the problem was. Llani was trying to turn around to look at this yellow apparition on his back, and almost run away from it.

My friend dismounted and removed her hi vis, and then Llani was perfectly happy for her to remount and stood rock still.

Today’s horse wasn’t bothered by my bright clothing on his back, but it would be interesting to know more about how horses view our fluorescent clothes and tack. I believe Llani could only see the yellow sleeves out of the corner of his eye which was why he tried to turn to look at it.

Do horses find fluorescent colours  as bright as we do? 

2 thoughts on “Brightly Coloured 

  1. rachelreunis February 24, 2016 / 6:44 am

    Do you think it could be sound as well as color? These neon, high visibility sports jackets are often made of a fabric that squeeks, swishes and make funny sounds like a plastic bag. One of the horses I was riding got spooked every time I wore my lightweight running jacket (black), imagine trying to take it of while still mounted….. Rodeo every single time ….

    • therubbercurrycomb February 24, 2016 / 7:16 am

      Haha Llani hated me taking anything off whilst mounted! I don’t think he liked seeing things just out of the corner of his eye. But yeah it could be sound too. It’s something we don’t really consider to build into training a horse but they need to learn bright things on their back aren’t scary 🙂

Leave a Reply

