Kids Say The Funniest Things

I regularly teach a group of three kids and recently have had the funniest moments with them and the ponies.

First of all, we had returned from the arena and the children dismounted in the yard before running up their stirrups and loosening their girths. The two ponies are the best of friends – imagine two grumpy old men sitting on a park bench watching the world go by – and the chestnut reached over and sniffed the bay`s nostrils gently. I`ll admit, it was a tender, intimate moment between two friends. But what I did not expect, was for the little boy to ask,

“Did they just have sex?”

Thankfully his Mum was on side to explain the birds and the bees in the car on the way home.

The following week I was teaching the same children and the youngest girl told me, as we were walking back to the yard, that there were “two boy ponies and one girl pony in the lesson”.

I agreed, and saw this as an ideal moment to question their knowledge.

“And what do you call a boy pony?”

The youngest shrugged and she didn`t know, so I asked the older girl who is a bit like Hermione Granger and knows everything.

“A stallion or a gelding.” I nodded, she knows her stuff.

“What`s the difference between a stallion and a gelding?” I asked, innocently.

She turned to me, bright red in the face and started giggling.

After a bit of coercion I managed to get the answer out of her, but the three kids giggled their way back to the yard.

My final anecdote for the night, was when I was bringing the youngest girl and her pony back to the yard when a livery passed us, wearing a smart bright red fleece rug.

“If that horse was on Strictly Come Dancing, that would be a very pretty red dress!” Declared my client, as I stifled a laugh.

2 thoughts on “Kids Say The Funniest Things

  1. Becky January 28, 2015 / 8:00 pm

    My boss hates questions about reproduction and gender, she refuses to answer if the kids ask! Best moment last summer was a child screaming “there’s something coming out of the horse!” to which one of my colleagues calmly replied, “ah that’s just his fifth leg”. Our boss was less than amused.

    • therubbercurrycomb January 29, 2015 / 9:23 pm

      Haha to be honest it’s not one of my favourite subjects. I once had two little boys on a pony day who were OBSESSED with the pony’s fifth leg! Cringey!

Leave a Reply

