Clipping Season

I got home this afternoon after a hard days work, and found myself stood on the door mat whilst my house proud boyfriend hoovered me. Granted, he had just spent the morning cleaning the house. But why did I have to be hoovered? Well this mornings rain combined with clipping four horses meant that I was a soggy hair ball!

It wasn’t pleasant, feeling itchy and having hair in the corner of your eyes, let alone down your bra and in your socks, but the humiliation heightened when he made me undress in the hall before carrying my hairy clothes at arms length straight to the washing machine! If this is the way life will be from now on, I’m arranging my clipping work so that I get home before him! And putting a curtain up across the front door because I don’t think that frosted glass is frosty enough!

As I was saying, I had indeed been clipping this afternoon – one hunter, three chasers, feathers scalped and manes hogged on all. This made me think, what clips do I actually like?

For starters, I like a hunter clip done in September or October on most horses, and then a smaller second clip in November because I detest clips on thick, hairy coats, which stand on end! Otis is already sporting his hunter clip. Llani, on the other hand, will need sedating, so I’m girding my loins to organise that.

Secondly, I am a fan of the blanket clip. Particularly on cobby horses who are hogged. The bald neck and mane look really smart but the blanket style stops them looking like wannabe hunters. It’s also a great clip in the riding school because you don’t have to worry about their backs getting cold in steady lessons.

I did three chasers today, and I have to say I didn’t like the effect. One mare is already quite long in the body and the diagonal line, stifle to poll, made her look even longer! She would have looked better with a blanket to disguise her long back. I do like the chaser effect on thoroughbreds though, who already look long and it can improve the perceived neck line. You always have to go up slightly on the shoulder so it’s a concave curve up the neck. Otherwise they look ewe-necked.

I never really see the point of a bib clip. It’s barely worth getting the clippers out, and in my opinion it doesn’t expose the sweatiness area of the body, namely the girth and sides on the neck. I’d much rather do a low chaser clip and take off a bit more of the belly. It makes it easier to brush the mud off too!

The trace clip is very much out of fashion at he moment. Unless if course you drive your horse, in which case it is ideal. I’m not sure I would be able to match the lines of the traces to the horse though!

The in thing at the moment is of course clipping hearts and stars onto the horse’s quarters. If I’m honest, I think it can go a bit insane, with motifs, words etc. I’ve occasionally done a heart or a star, or even the initial of the horse’s name. The trouble is now everyone asks if Alfie is having an “A” clipped out this year … “A” is a tricky letter to clip! I have to do it on both sides then rub out the worst one! So to make my life easier, I am now marketing myself as a “traditional clipper” so that I don’t get put into that awkward position of trying to clip Superman’s logo onto some little boy’s pony!

I shall keep you updated on my clipping season, and any odd requests I get!

One thought on “Clipping Season

  1. firnhyde October 5, 2014 / 12:15 pm

    I have a love-hate relationship with clipping, too! Because our winters are quite warm, I clip as much of my horse as she will allow without sedation, which is basically everything but the head and legs. It looks daft, but is the best I can do to keep her comfy.
    My worst is clipping Jersey calves for a show. They stand still all right, but all the little nooks and crannies are so hard to get into! And nothing but a clean clip of the entire animal is good enough. Those little dewclaws are a nightmare to get to…

Leave a Reply

