My Favourite Things

What strange things do your horses like to eat? Yes, I know we shouldn’t feed them snacks but they’re always getting their hands, I mean hooves, on things that are bad for them.

For instance, Otis’s latest craze is oranges. This is fine by me as he eats the peel and pith, leaving me with the segments … Well sometimes!

Today I went down the field at lunchtime to catch Otis to take out a hack that afternoon and hadn’t quite got round to eating my oranges. Stood in the corner of the field I started peeling my orange. Ever on the scrounge, Otis and Llani trotted over. Llani pushed Otis out of the way and stood in front of me, ears pricked, butter-wouldn’t-melt expression. He didn’t nudge me but was expectant. I offered him some peel, of which he wrinkled his nose and turned away. So I gave it to Otis, who gobbled it up happily and then waited patiently for the rest of the peel. But Llani had other ideas! He wouldn’t let Otis come near me! There was no nastiness, he just positioned himself between me and Otis. Not that Llani wanted the orange peel, he just didn’t want Otis to have any either! I pushed Llani away and let Otis eat the remains of the peel and walked away from them both to eat my segments in peace!

Is anyone else’s horse just interested in what their humans are eating? At competitions Otis snacks on whatever I’m eating – malt loaf, cereal bars, crisps, bourbons, etc – purely because I’m eating them!

5 thoughts on “My Favourite Things

  1. Becky September 27, 2014 / 7:50 pm

    One of our horses at camp love sour patch kids (a bit like sour jelly tots), probably thanks to the sugar crystal coating. Another likes cheez-its (mini cheddars), and “my” horse loves ice pops. Oh and we have two who will bodily fight to lick out an ice cream tub!

  2. firnhyde September 28, 2014 / 11:13 am

    I rode a horse once that adored jelly beans. You could get him to paw the ground if you told him “foot!” whilst sitting on him, but he would then turn his head and demand his jelly bean!

  3. whoapony07 September 28, 2014 / 4:06 pm

    Lay’s Sour Cream and Onion potato chips, she doesn’t care for any other flavor but that 🙂

  4. DawnSeeker September 29, 2014 / 2:50 am

    My horses come from a family line that once lived in Hawaii — and because one loved them, they all do: BANANAS are their favorite! I unzip and toss the peels, feeding them chunks of the sweet fruit. (A perfect solution for overly-ripe bananas:)) They go nuts for them — licking their lips for a long time afterwards!

    • therubbercurrycomb September 29, 2014 / 5:34 am

      Oh yes! Black bananas and skin are another of Otis’s favourites, he just rarely gets them because I don’t like them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

