Bend Or Spots

I was doing some background research for the Horse Ownership course I`m planning, and was creating a set of crib notes for Horse Colours and Markings.

Yes I know, they`re easy and we should know all about them, but I don`t want my mind to go blank.

Anyway, in the markings section of the website I was reading it had the heading non-white markings. “Oh yes, ermine marks” I thought, jotting that down. I scanned the list and came across “Bend Or Spots”.

WHAT?

I have never heard of Bend Or Spots, so naturally I clicked the link. It was very interesting. Named after the chestnut Thoroughbred Bend Or, these are dark spots found randomly on the coat, which occur predominantly on palominos and chestnuts.

Then it dawned on me, I had seen a Bend Or spot. One of the riding school mares (a palomino) has a large dark spot on her quarters. I`ve always wondered what caused it and put it down to her weirdness (believe me, she`s crazy!) or a previous injury.

These spots are very rare and it doesn`t appear to be related to other spotting factors, but as Bend Or`s progeny have them there may be a genetic factor. Sometimes they appear at birth or come a few years later. The spots are random in situation and size, some as big as an outstretched hand!

20140707-194613-71173524.jpg

3 thoughts on “Bend Or Spots

  1. Gillian Elliott July 8, 2014 / 10:58 am

    chesnuts have liver spots and since they are close genetic colour wise I would have presumed they are the same..

  2. firnhyde July 8, 2014 / 2:45 pm

    I’ve seen a few large, liver-coloured Bend Or spots on chestnut horses. Around here some people call them birthmarks. Even more interesting is the large red patch I saw on a fleabitten grey mare; it was more red roan than chestnut, and after a bunch of research I discovered that these are known as bloodmarks.

    • therubbercurrycomb July 10, 2014 / 7:32 am

      Ah cool I will look up blood marks and see what they’re like 🙂

Leave a Reply

