Kids Say The Funniest Things

Yesterday I was teaching two girls and one of their ponies had an itchy nose so kept stopping to scratch his nose. On his leg, on the fence, on the pony in front of him!

I brushed it off and told her he must have a fly up his nose.

Which cued the questions:
“How many flies fit up a pony’s nose?”
“If all the flies in the world went up the noses of all the ponies would there be any flies left?”

What followed was a fascinating walk through the woods looking for poisonous plants, spotting squirrels and listening out for field mice!

But it just goes to show, kids have the weirdest train of thoughts.

4 thoughts on “Kids Say The Funniest Things

  1. firnhyde June 22, 2014 / 6:53 am

    The other day I had a group of ten-year-olds in the dairy showing them how to milk cows. With years of experience backing me, I felt ready to answer pretty much any cow question they might have. They still threw me a complete curveball by asking “How do they get cow pellets into that shape?”
    They never seem to ask the textbook questions, do they?!

    • therubbercurrycomb June 22, 2014 / 7:03 am

      Haha – good old timehop keeps reminding me of anecdotes from years ago. Today’s was when I asked a kid what grows on oak trees… Her reply was Oaks!! 😀

      Btw how do they get cow pellets that shape? 😉

      • firnhyde June 22, 2014 / 1:02 pm

        I don’t actually know… my best answer was “they mix all the stuff together and then squish it into pellets with a machine” 😀

      • therubbercurrycomb June 22, 2014 / 5:54 pm

        Good answer, same as pony nuts I think. I’ll have to remember that for when I’m next teaching about feeds 🙂

Leave a Reply

