Changing the Rein

It sounds simple doesn`t it, changing the rein, but I like to keep my clients on their toes.

Sometimes in a private lesson I will say to the client as they are trotting around “After your circle go large and change the rein.”

Then I watch. Some clients will trot around the arena waiting for me to give them a letter. Some ask “Where?” and others provide a couple of letters. If I see confusion growing on my young client`s face I tell them they can choose whichever change of rein they want to do.

It usually takes a couple of lessons for my clients to get confident enough to change the rein in a way other than the long diagonal and to take the initiative to pick a fast-approaching change of rein – it is incredible how many trot past the letter C and then decide to change the rein C to A …

The other week I was teaching a little boy, who I don`t usually teach except for holidays. I asked him to change the rein however he felt, being as adventurous as possible. So he trotted up the long side, turned a half ten metre circle at H and proceeded in a straight line to the letter to K.

“And what is the name of this change of rein?” I ask, secretly quite impressed.

“A demi-volte” he informs me primly, changing his trot diagonal and whip. I had taught him this change of rein almost two months ago!

3 thoughts on “Changing the Rein

    • Becky June 6, 2015 / 9:16 pm

      I love this too! My favourite when I’m the client is to go for two half-ten metre circles. It’s amazing how reliant on direct and literal instructions some people are!

      • therubbercurrycomb June 6, 2015 / 9:18 pm

        Yes and you can really confuse them by saying “FXH” because they suddenly look for the letter X! Or just say it as it would be written in a dressage test to make them think twice 🙂

Leave a Reply

