Spring Fever

I think my horses were suffering from spring fever. Early this morning I went down to catch Otis, who bearing in mind lives in the furthest livery paddock, and walked all the way up pausing to pick Apollo up on the way past.
Firstly, Apollo was at the furthest end and ignored my shouts so I had to leave Otis grazing the lush grass, tied to the string on the gate and drag Apollo over. He snorted as though he’d never seen another horse, and then stood stupidly while I faffed with the gate.

With Otis in my right hand and Apollo snorting at every ghost, pussyfooting behind me, I made my way up the path. We were about to cross the lane to the yard when, without warning, Otis turned with his head down and trotted back to his field. I was whipped round like a rag doll at the end of the lead rope until I came to my senses and let go. Meanwhile Apollo snorted and turned back to his field.

I knew where Otis would go, and watching him trot past the individual paddocks with his tail in the air I traipsed back to get Apollo. He huffed and puffed as he minced behind me. Otis meanwhile had stopped at the near end of his field to snack on the grass (he’s not starved, honest!) so I made my way steadily. However, Apollo had never been this far down the track and was seeing monsters everywhere. Then, another couple of horses decided to canter over to investigate the coloured stranger. Cue Otis cantering further down the path!
I shouted his name furiously, trying to sound firm and not scaring Apollo too much. Otis stood with his quarters to me, head turned with a wicked look in his eye. As I approached he edged further away until I called him, like a mother telling her child not to cross the road. Then I caught him and they came in as sweet as anything.

I schooled Apollo, who started off like a pony on speed, rushing and tense and trying to nap to the other horse in the school. After an exhausting thirty minutes he settled and went quite nicely.

After feeding him, and him trying to go for a little explore, I turned him out where he shot off without waiting for his fly mask, desperate for a roll.

Otis and I were going on a cross country ride with a friend so I groomed him and we loaded without a problem and Otis settled himself over the little mares head to eat her hay net. Because it was so much nicer than his! Upon arrival both Welshies were nice and calm but this soon changed. We started at the edge of a big field. Unfortunately neither horse considered warm up to be a necessary component of the ride and off we shot, galloping straight past the first jump and eventually pulling up in time for jump two.
For the rest of the ride Otis bounced, insisted on randomly cantering off, racing the horses in front of us, leaping the fences and performing airs above the ground when not allowed to gallop! What had gotten into him?
I think we overtook 10 groups and finally found a lovely lady and spotty horse who was happy to be used as a stopping target. You would think that 30 jumps and right miles Otis would have been tired!

I think the spring grass is making them both a little naughty!

One thought on “Spring Fever

  1. Sparrowgrass May 26, 2014 / 8:31 am

    Yes we’re experiencing this too. Had some ridiculously forward rides this week but I’ve been taking some amusement from telling people ”My horse is high on grass!”

Leave a Reply

